CHUCK'S
  Fire Extinguisher Service.

Phone: 909 - 606 - 6387

 

 

There are a lot of unscrupulous and unlicensed persons trying to do fire extinguisher service these days. They may be wearing a shirt that looks like a fireman, or maybe a legit service company shirt and may give you a really cheap price. If it seems too good to be true it probably is. I have been doing this work for over 30 years and have seen all kinds of tactics unscrupulous people have used. If they seem aggressive to you, or demand payment in cash do not let them do your service.

1) Every service technician has to be licensed by the California State Fire Marshal before servicing any fire extinguisher. They have to have their license on them whenever they are servicing or recharging fire extinguishers. If a company comes into your place of business for fire extinguisher service ask them to show you there Certificate of Registration. It will look something like a driver license. It should have the current year sticker on the back, his name, picture and license number. If he canít show that to you then donít let him/her do the service. Click Here to view a sample fire extinguisher license.

2) Watch out for fire extinguisher swaps. Most legit companies may swap out a fire extinguisher to save time or for one that has been hydrostatically tested and has had its six year service performed. As long as it is the same for the same on being exchanged or one that is better, thatís OK. The problem is some companies will give you one that is the worst for wear or maybe a different brand, or one that is not rated as the one they are taking. I have actually had fire extinguisher companies remove one year old fire extinguishers and replace them with fire extinguishers that are 10 to 15 years old. If it doesnít look right say something to them. Tell them you want your fire extinguishers back, especially if they are a newer model.

3) Watch out for free service inspections. They are just a ruse to get the date and a name for when to come back and try to do the service.

4) Every fire extinguisher belonging to any type of business has to be serviced once a year. It is a California State Law. To find out if your fire extinguisher needs service simply look at the tag that is attached to it. The date is always punched the day the service was performed and is good until the following year on the same date. When the fire extinguisher is serviced it will get a new tag with the same date as the service was done. A fire extinguisher cannot be serviced earlier that one month before the actual date that is punched on the tag. Unless it has been discharged or used. Click Here to view a sample certification tag.

You can also fill out the complaint form and send it to the Office Of The State Fire Marshal if you feel that you have been ripped off.
CLICK HERE FOR COMPLAINT FORM
 

 

 

Chuck's Fire Extinguisher Service Co.
PO BOX 1324
ONTARIO, California, 91762